News & Media Follow us please
Home > News & Media > Event News > Opening ceremony for 2018 Round Hainan Regatta held in Sanya

Opening ceremony for 2018 Round Hainan Regatta held in Sanya

Updated: 2018-04-10 14:45:47

Sanya welcomed 45 sailing teams and 31 OP teenagers to the 2018 Round Hainan Regatta with a grand opening ceremony on March 25th, 2018.




Several officials from government, sailing associations, and media attended the event, including Zhong Runzhi, Deputy Secretary-General of the Hainan Provincial Government; Zhang Xiaodong, President of the China Sailing Sports Association; Lin Guangqiang, Deputy Director of the 2018 Round Hainan Regatta Organizing Committee; Bernard Bonneau, Race Director of Round Hainan Regatta; Cao Yuanxin, Deputy Director of the Hainan Department of Culture, Radio, Television, Publication and Sports; Dai Yuming, Vice Mayor of the Sanya Municipal People’s Government; and Sheng Feng, Deputy CEO of the Country Garden Residential Community Developer in the Hainan Region.




Speeches were delivered from Sanya and organizing committee representatives as the regatta was officially declared open.




Addressing the sailors at the opening of the Round Hainan Regatta, Dai Yuming, Vice Mayor of the Sanya Municipal People’s Government, said, “In recent years, Sanya has hosted the most international sailing regattas in all of Asia, including the Volvo Ocean Race, the Clipper Round-the-World Ocean Race, and the Youth Sailing World Championship. Sanya has proved to be an ideal sailing capital and one of the most popular sailing cities in the country. This year, the regatta will help to raise Sanya’s sailing and sailboarding level and bring more variety and color to the offerings of our beautiful international tourism island.”


The 2018 Round Hainan Regatta is sponsored by Country Garden, a top developer and operator of residential communities in China.


This year’s regatta is taking place in the waters off Sanya, the host city, and will include stops in Lingshui, Wanning, and Haikou. The regatta includes eight racing groups including the IRC1-6, Beneteau Leisure, and OP classes.


op1 op2 op3op1Launching Ceremony for the Sanya – Haikou Rally Race was held in Sanya.